top of page


Action22 is a non-partisan membership driven organization which serves as a voice and leader for action on public policy for 22 Southern Colorado counties.  Our membership includes business leaders, elected officials, business organizations, counties, municipalities, and nonprofit organizations from around the state. We enjoy strong, effective working relationships with Legislators, Colorado’s Executive Branch, regulatory agencies, and other elected officials.


Action22 focuses on how issues relating to legislation, intersect for the economic health of our region. Specifically we work on:

  • government affairs

  • rural economic development

  • healthcare

  • education

  • agriculture/natural resources


Because  of our strong working relationship with public policy decision makers, Action22 is uniquely positioned to be the vehicle for  regional collaboration for our members on those issues and projects most pressing for our communities.

Sara Blackhurst, CEO

Brian McCain, COO

Our Board of Directors

Rick Klein

La Junta City Manager

Action 22 Board Chair

Tony Hass

Las Animas County Commissioner

Action 22 Vice Chair

Ashley Valdez

Xcel Energy Community Area Manager

Action 22 Secretary

Chad Vorthman

Colorado Farm Bureau Executive Vice President

Action 22 Out of Area Director

Bill Canda

Custer County Commissioner 

Brian Turner


Carlton Croft

Huerfeno Economic Development

Charles Bogle

Custer County Economic Development

Chuck Steigerwalt

Greenhorn Electric

Dr. Linda Lujan

Lamar Community College

Garrison Ortiz

Pueblo County Commissioner

Guillermo Lambarri


Ivonne Garcia

SRDA, Colorado 211

Jim Ehrlich

Colorado Potato Adm. Committee

John Vigil

Black Hills Energy

Justin Grantham

Fremont County Clerk

Kevin Grantham

Fremont County Commissioner

Laura Getts

San Isabel Electric

Mike Beasley

5280 Solutions

Mike Cafasso

St. Mary Corwin, Centura Health

Pam Bricker

Three Barrels Brewery

Phil Rico

Mayor, Trinidad

Sarah Carlisle


Scott Tipton

US Congressman

Stan VanderWerf

El Paso County Commissioner

William Mutch

Mutch Government Relations

bottom of page